Beauty · Thinking of the future

Review: Colour Freedom Tropical Aqua hair dye.

Hey bloggers, its been a while since I last wrote anything on my blog but I’ve decided to try something new that I’ve never done before and that is a review…

I want to review a product named colour freedom tropical aqua semi permanent hair dye. It’s from a company that’s called knight & Wilson and this is not my first time useing this product and in fact I’ve been experimenting with the range of colours that this company have released but seeing as blue is my favourite colour I decided to review this one. 


So this is the products that I’ve used to creat the colour my hair is now. I’ve used the colour tropical aqua and mixed it with a small amount of one of their other colours that is called storm grey and I’ve also mixed them together with some conditioner to create the colour that I was looking for. 

Now I’ve been colouring my hair for way to many years now and I’ve honestly been every colour that you can think of and during the years I’ve used many different products to dye my hair. I’ve learnt the hard way the do’s and don’ts of colouring your hair. 

Over the past two years I’ve been using the same brand that is colour freedom. I love drug stores and the one I use most often is Superdrug so I noticed these dyes while browsing the shop one day and thought I’d give it ago. Ever since I’ve been hooked and have never moved on to another brand because I love this product so much. I’ve used many of their colours and have had a extremely great result each time I’ve changed colours so I definitely do recommend this product. 

These colours usually sell at around £6.99 in store and online but I managed to pick these dyes up for £4.66 each which is a really great price when you consider the amount of dye you get in the bottle. There is 150ml in each bottle and it honestly lasts for a really long time especially if your going to dilute the colour to suit your preference. They do sell a pasteliser but any cheap clear or white conditioner works just as well. 

Online it reads that The unique professional formula boosts colour penetration for beautifully even, radiant results that fade out in 6-10 washes. Break away from permanent colour, peroxides and harsh chemicals. Treat your hair to Colour-Freedom’s deep conditioning formula with Shea Butter & Argan Oil. Nourish protect and add natural looking shine as your hair is infused with brilliant colour.

I think that this is pretty accurate but the washing out will more than likely work its way out in 4 to 8 washes rather than the 6-10 that they have stated. 

The box comes with the dye a conditioner and gloves along with instructions that have a cool little colour chart inside to give you a rough idea of the colours you can creat with a pasteliser or conditioner. 

What I do is mix a small amount of colour to about three times that amount of conditioner and also add some storm grey as well. Once I’ve found the colour that I want I will put gloves on and plaster the lot onto my hair. I massage it in for a while then comb it through just to make sure I’ve reached every inch of my hair. The box says to leave it on for 15 to 30 minutes depending on the intensity of the colour your looking for. I usually leave it on for 30 minutes but I’ve went for 45 and still gotten the results that I’m looking for. 

Once it’s ready to wash out I rince with warm water and massage it colour out of my hair then dry and style. 


This is the colour I’ve ended up with… I love it and what I think is so great about this product which I didnt really get using any other brands is that it is true to the colour shown on the box or the colour you’ve mixed it too. So many times I’ve used other products and the colour just didn’t turn out the way I wanted it but with this you can be sure that it will turn out just as you’ve wanted it as long as you’ve got light hair before dying or your just topping up your already coloured hair after it has washed out. 

I have a dirty fair natural hair colour so once every month and half I will bleach my roots and re-colour my hair and in between bleaching I will re-colour as a top up. 

I honestly love this product after my hair has been coloured it looks and feels so smooth and it smells so good. I definitely recommend trying this brand out of you love really bright coloured hair it is a must have.  

So that’s all hope you like my review and hopefully I will review some more products in the future. 

CAC xo

Leave a Reply

